Jo Brand Through The Cakehole. Jo Brand. Copyright: Channel X.

Jo Brand Through The Cakehole

Channel 4 stand-up from Jo Brand. 14 episodes (pilot + 2 series), 1993 - 1996. Stars Jo Brand.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Friday 8th April 1994

Deadpan comedienne Jo Brand questions the phenomenon of the 'new man', and airs her displeasure of the interlopers to the glorious world of cake, such as rice, Jaffa, and Pontefract.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Friday 15th April 1994

Jo Brand questions the lack of euphemisms for female masturbation, and sings about the progress of womens' rights issues.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Friday 22nd April 1994

Jo Brand gives Helena Bonham-Carter a lesson in how to make herself more attractive to men. Plus, there's a trip to a male prostitute.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Friday 29th April 1994

Another battle of the sexes, Jo Brand style. Ex-boxer Barry McGuigan puts in an appearance and is assaulted by a posse of women. Jo feels the burn after her exercise routine.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Friday 6th May 1994

Mrs Watson gives Sherlock Holmes a piece of her mind, and Jo laments the increasing health warnings on cigarette packets. Meanwhile, the Drudge Squad finally get their man in for questioning.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Friday 13th May 1994

This week, Jo asks what's so 'super' about supermodels. She also gives a certain coffee advert a bit of a roasting, before sending some poor people on a murderous rampage.


Christmas Special: Jo Brand Through The Christmas Cakehole

First broadcast: Friday 23rd December 1994

A special Christmas edition of Jo Brand's comedy show featuring sketches and stand-up routines. The deadpan comedienne offers her own unique style of seasonal cheer, packed with TV advert and film spoofs.