How TV Ruined Your Life. Charlie Brooker. Copyright: Zeppotron.

How TV Ruined Your Life

BBC Two sketch show. 6 episodes (1 series) in 2011. Stars Charlie Brooker, Kevin Eldon and Liz May Brice.

Series 1

1. Fear

First broadcast: Tuesday 25th January 2011

From hysterical public information films to grisly crime dramas, terror spills out of almost every channel. As Charlie explores TV's approach to fear, you won't know whether to laugh or scream. Warning: contains traces of Michael Buerk and a semi-naked lady.


2. The Lifecycle

First broadcast: Tuesday 1st February 2011

From kids shows to Countdown, TV has something to infuriate anyone of any age. Warning: this episode contains creepy dolls and the 1980s Oxo dad.


3. Aspiration

First broadcast: Tuesday 8th February 2011

From Dallas to Grand Designs, TV continually rubs desirable lifestyles in your face, making you feel inadequate in the process. Warning: contains Sophie Dahl and coffins.


4. Love

First broadcast: Tuesday 15th February 2011

TV has warped our expectations of romance with a toxic combination of Blind Date and rom-coms, but do 'soulmates' even exist? Warning: this episode contains traces of Dirty Den and suggestive swimwear.


5. Progress

First broadcast: Tuesday 1st March 2011

From the moon landings to Blake's 7 to CSI: Miami, television has warped our relationship with technology. Warning: this episode contains a computerised Simon Cowell and a lady in a silver catsuit.


6. Knowledge

First broadcast: Tuesday 8th March 2011

Charlie traces how TV's notion of knowledge has changed from bespectacled experts to celebrity presenter drivel. Warning: this episode contains an alien meeting with Danny Dyer and celebrity supernatural activity.