Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Gemma Whelan, Ryan Sampson, Tom Stourton
Horrible Histories

Horrible Histories

  • TV sketch show
  • CBBC / BBC One
  • 2009 - 2022
  • 125 episodes (9 series)

Hit sketch show based on surprising facts from world history, inspired by the hit children's book series. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton, Martha Howe-Douglas and more.

Episode menu

Series 9, Episode 14 - Smash Hit Songs

Rattus has an idea that might make him millions - he is going to launch a streaming service. However, to make Ratify a success, he is going to need some great songs from history.


This episode is comprised almost entirely of musical sketches that appeared earlier in the series.

Broadcast details

Friday 25th February 2022
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 13th March 2022 6:15pm CBBC
Monday 14th March 2022 8:20am CBBC
Friday 1st April 2022 3:00pm CBBC
Wednesday 18th May 2022 2:00pm CBBC
Wednesday 22nd June 2022 3:00pm CBBC

Cast & crew

Tom Stourton Various
Jessica Ransom Various
Richard David-Caine Various
Gemma Whelan Various
Harrie Hayes Various
Emily Lloyd Saini Various
James McNicholas Various
Ethan Lawrence Ensemble Actor
Paul G Raymond Ensemble Actor
Kiell Smith-Bynoe Ensemble Actor
Dave Chapman Rattus Rattus
Guest cast
Javone Prince Various
Kayode Ewumi Various
Akemnji Ndifornyen Various
Verona Rose Various
Dominique Moore Various
Oliver Wellington Various
Inel Tomlinson Ensemble Actor
Timmika Ramsay Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Howard Read Writer
Lucy Clarke Writer
Ben Ward Writer
Claire Wetton Writer
Jessica Ransom Writer
Akemnji Ndifornyen Script Editor
Susie Donkin Writer
Gabby Hutchinson Crouch Writer
Max Olesker Writer
Tasha Dhanraj Writer
Celia Morgan Writer
Production team
Gordon Anderson Director
Simon Wilson Series Editor
Ben Rogers Series Producer
Matt Lamont Producer
Melissa Hardinge Executive Producer
Richard Bradley Executive Producer
Simon Welton Executive Producer
Imogen Gay Line Producer
Elaine Campbell Development Line Producer
Lisa Mitchell Development Series Producer
Duncan O'Neill Editor
Garry Smith Editor
James Cooper Editor
James Lagen Editor
Sarah Milton Production Designer
Kharmel Cochrane Casting Director
Sally Broome Casting Director
Jemima Cotter Costume Designer
Ian Liggett Director of Photography
Kevin Brown Director of Photography
Lisa Halstead Make-up Designer
Richie Webb Composer
Rob Fellows Graphics
Rupert Tucker Graphics
Alex Candlin 1st Assistant Director
Sam Roffey 1st Assistant Director
Chris Malin 1st Assistant Director

Share this page

Promoted video