British Comedy Guide

Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Laurence Rickard, Mathew Baynton, Simon Farnaby, Martha Howe-Douglas, Ben Willbond. Copyright: Lion Television / Citrus Television.

Horrible Histories

CBBC sketch show. 88 episodes (6 series), 2009 - 2016. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton, Martha Howe-Douglas, Laurence Rickard, John Eccleston and others.

Another series is in development.
(Series 6, Episode is repeated on tomorrow at 2pm)

Series 4, Episode 10

William the Conqueror has some trouble conquering the town of Ely; Greek philosopher Diogenes reveals his disgusting tactic for getting rid of people he doesn't like; a Saxon joins a modern dating agency, and there is a surprise in store for the people on Victorian Wife Swap.

Broadcast details

Friday 18th May 2012
30 minutes
0.38 million viewers (2.50% audience share)


  1. Saturday 19th May 2012 at 09.30
  2. Monday 4th June 2012 at 15.20
  3. Friday 29th June 2012 at 08.20
  4. Saturday 18th August 2012 at 10.00
  5. Friday 12th October 2012 at 10.05
  6. Sunday 28th October 2012 at 15.00 on BBC HD
  7. Friday 23rd November 2012 at 07.45
  8. Thursday 13th December 2012 at 07.45
  9. Tuesday 2nd April 2013 at 13.20
  10. Friday 24th May 2013 at 07.45
  11. Monday 11th November 2013 at 07.45
  12. Sunday 18th January 2015 at 13.35
  13. Friday 17th June 2016 at 19.00
  14. Wednesday 12th October 2016 at 19.00

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jim Howick Various
Simon Farnaby Various
Ben Willbond Various
Mathew Baynton Various
Martha Howe-Douglas Various
Laurence Rickard Various
John Eccleston Rattus Rattus (Voice)
Sarah Hadland Various
Jon Culshaw Various (Voice)
Jess Robinson Various (Voice)
Katherine Jakeways Ensemble (Various Roles)
Jalaal Hartley Ensemble (Various Roles)
Lawry Lewin Ensemble (Various Roles)
Dominique Moore Ensemble (Various Roles)
Writing team
Ali Crockatt Writer
David Scott Writer
Katherine Jakeways Writer
Steve Punt Writer
Dave Cohen Writer
Ben Ward Writer
Laurence Rickard Writer
Gerard Foster Writer
Giles Pilbrow Writer
Production team
Steve Connelly Director
Dominic Brigstocke Director
Caroline Norris Series Producer
Giles Pilbrow Producer
Imogen Cooper Producer
Melissa Hardinge Exec Producer
Richard Bradley Exec Producer
Miranda Jones Production Designer
Richie Webb Composer
Nigel Williams Editor
Mike Holliday Editor

Share this page