Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Gemma Whelan, Ryan Sampson, Tom Stourton
Horrible Histories

Horrible Histories

  • TV sketch show
  • CBBC / BBC One
  • 2009 - 2022
  • 125 episodes (9 series)

Hit sketch show based on surprising facts from world history, inspired by the hit children's book series. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton, Martha Howe-Douglas and more.

Episode menu

Series 2 - Savage Songs

A compilation of the songs from the series, featuring Spartan High School Musical, the Viking Rock Band, punky Queen Boudica, Incan emperor Pachacuti, the posh rapping of Charles II, Blackbeard the Pirate, George IV going solo, the Victorian Inventions song, and the World War Two Girls.

Further details

Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Ben Willbond, Jim Howick, Mathew Baynton. Copyright: Lion Television / Citrus Television

Horrible Histories' ratty host is throwing his own disco, featuring all of the hilarious comedy songs from the series, plus the rousing tune Born To Rule from the first series.

The Savage Songs Special features punky Celt Boudicca, Spartan School Musical, a pop-tastic number all about how Spartan boys became warriors; and the Vikings contribute a rock-filled song about their invasion of England.

Incan emperor Pachacuti entertains with his cheesy pop song all about his tribe's scary habits (like drinking from the skulls of their dead enemies and using their arms for flutes); posh Charles II channels his inner Eminem to rap all about how he's the original merry monarch; and Blackbeard the Pirate tunefully explains his scurrilous ways.

Georgian George finally gets to go solo; the Cowboys tell all about the reality of life in the saddle; there's the educational Victorian inventions song; and some original girl power from the Second World War ladies. Finally, the four King Georges form the ultimate boy band with their performance of Born To Rule.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 27th July 2010
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 24th September 2010 4:30pm BBC1
Friday 17th December 2010 3:05pm BBC1
Friday 31st December 2010 9:00am BBC1
Friday 18th March 2011 4:00pm BBC1
Monday 30th May 2011 4:40pm CBBC
Sunday 5th June 2011 2:10pm CBBC
Tuesday 26th July 2011 10:35am CBBC
Saturday 6th August 2011 2:05pm CBBC
Sunday 7th August 2011 2:10pm CBBC
Monday 29th August 2011 8:05am CBBC
Tuesday 30th August 2011 4:30pm BBC1
Friday 2nd September 2011 5:50pm CBBC
Monday 19th September 2011 4:30pm BBC1
Wednesday 12th October 2011 6:20pm CBBC
Saturday 5th November 2011 10:00am CBBC
Thursday 8th December 2011 6:20pm CBBC
Thursday 15th December 2011 1:40pm CBBC
Tuesday 20th December 2011 12:30pm CBBC
Saturday 31st December 2011 5:30pm CBBC
Sunday 1st January 2012 5:30pm CBBC
Monday 5th March 2012 6:15pm CBBC
Monday 9th April 2012 10:00am CBBC
Monday 7th May 2012 11:30am CBBC
Monday 7th May 2012 1:25pm CBBC
Sunday 30th September 2012 9:00am CBBC
Saturday 29th December 2012 11:35am BBC2
Tuesday 8th January 2013 5:15pm CBBC
Saturday 20th April 2013 10:05am CBBC
Sunday 21st April 2013 2:10pm CBBC
Tuesday 13th August 2013 5:00pm CBBC
Monday 7th October 2013 7:45am CBBC
Sunday 29th December 2013 12:30pm CBBC
Sunday 6th July 2014 6:25pm CBBC
Tuesday 26th August 2014 5:00pm CBBC
Monday 14th December 2015 7:45am CBBC
Monday 16th May 2016 7:00pm CBBC
Sunday 5th June 2016 3:30pm CBBC
Wednesday 5th April 2017 9:00am CBBC
Tuesday 18th April 2017 7:00pm CBBC
Sunday 25th June 2017 10:00am CBBC
Monday 26th June 2017 3:50pm CBBC
Sunday 28th January 2018 8:30am CBBC
Sunday 28th January 2018 8:30pm CBBC
Wednesday 6th June 2018 9:30am CBBC
Wednesday 6th June 2018 7:00pm CBBC
Saturday 18th August 2018 8:30pm CBBC
Thursday 25th October 2018 8:25am CBBC
Tuesday 29th January 2019 7:00pm CBBC
Saturday 14th September 2019 2:20pm CBBC
Friday 27th September 2019 7:00pm CBBC

Cast & crew

Jim Howick Various
Simon Farnaby Various
Ben Willbond Various
Mathew Baynton Various
Martha Howe-Douglas Various
Laurence Rickard Various
Jon Culshaw Various (Voice)
Jess Robinson Various (Voice)
Alice Lowe Ensemble Actor
Katy Wix Ensemble Actor
Lawry Lewin Ensemble Actor
John Eccleston Rattus Rattus
Guest cast
Nathaniel Martello-White Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Mathew Baynton Writer
Dave Cohen Writer
Laurence Rickard Writer
Production team
Steve Connelly Director
Dominic Brigstocke Director
Caroline Norris Series Producer
Giles Pilbrow Producer
Richard Bradley Executive Producer
Alison Gregory Executive Producer
Nigel Williams Editor
Mike Holliday Editor
Will Peverett Editor
Miranda Jones Production Designer
Richie Webb Composer

Share this page