Horrible Histories. Image shows from L to R: Gemma Whelan, Ryan Sampson, Tom Stourton.

Horrible Histories

CBBC and BBC One sketch show based on historical fact. 106 episodes (8 series), 2009 - 2020. Stars Jim Howick, Simon Farnaby, Ben Willbond, Mathew Baynton and others.

Series 5, Episode 10 is repeated today at 7pm.

Series 1

Horrible Histories. Jim Howick. Copyright: Lion Television / Citrus Television.

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Thursday 16th April 2009

A pirate captain worries about early bedtime, a soldier from the First World War struggles to cook with fake food and the four King Georges form a boy band and sing Born To Rule - a musical journey through 18th-century British History, sung in the style of a Westlife ballad.

In-depth Guide

2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Thursday 23rd April 2009

A stone-age doctor tries to help a modern patient, a whining Pharaoh invents the pyramid, and Henry VIII meets his dead friends.

In-depth Guide

3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Thursday 30th April 2009

A Roman emperor finds a nasty alternative to candles, an Egyptian tries to save money on mummification, and the Roundheads and Cavaliers take part in Historical Wife Swap.

In-depth Guide

4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Thursday 7th May 2009

Viewers can delve into the lives of the Smashing Saxons, Vile Victorians, Rotten Romans and Terrible Tudors, in this week's edition of the comedy history series hosted by a talking rat.

In-depth Guide

5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Thursday 14th May 2009

A priest makes a piano from live pigs, Emperor Caligula declares war on the sea, and we discover disgusting beauty tips from Ancient Egypt.

In-depth Guide

6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Thursday 21st May 2009

Outlandish Georgian beauty tips, a Roman Galley safety announcement and made-up monsters and bizarre cures for the Black Death from the Measly Middle Ages are just some of the comedy treats featured in this week's feast of funny historical sketches.

In-depth Guide

7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Thursday 28th May 2009

The Houses of Parliament smell of poo, Cinderella struggles with the Blitz, and Helen of Troy reveals her complicated love life.

In-depth Guide

8. Episode Eight

First broadcast: Thursday 4th June 2009

The Saxons exchange disgusting Christmas presents, a caveman goes on a TV cookery show and we discover the bizarre causes of the First World War.

In-depth Guide

9. Episode Nine

First broadcast: Thursday 11th June 2009

A Victorian inspector checks that school is suitably cruel, HHTV News reports live from the Great Plague and Thumbelina drowns in poo.

In-depth Guide

10. Episode Ten

First broadcast: Thursday 18th June 2009

HHTV News reports live from the Battle of Thermopylae, Celt housewives find decorative uses for severed heads and we learn the revolting truth about Roman toilets.


11. Episode Eleven

First broadcast: Thursday 25th June 2009

Queen Victoria learns her British comforts aren't very British, a Viking warrior won't stop talking in rhyme, and the contestants try to become executioners on Axe Factor.

In-depth Guide

12. Episode Twelve

First broadcast: Thursday 2nd July 2009

A Victorian teacher is confused by her pupils' bizarre names, the Romans run out of animals to execute, and Queen Victoria advertises her exercise DVD.

In-depth Guide

13. Episode Thirteen

First broadcast: Thursday 9th July 2009

A lazy aristocrat invents the sandwich, the Romans host their own revolting cookery show, and William Shakespeare is haunted by the ghost of King Richard III.

In-depth Guide

Series 1 Products