Home To Roost. Image shows from L to R: Matthew Willows (Reece Dinsdale), Henry Willows (John Thaw). Copyright: Yorkshire Television.

Home To Roost

ITV sitcom about an adult father and son. 29 episodes (4 series), 1985 - 1990. Stars John Thaw, Reece Dinsdale, Elizabeth Bennett and Joan Blackham.

Series 3

1. Human Interest

First broadcast: Saturday 24th October 1987

Henry is looking for a new cleaning lady, but Matthew decides that he has a better idea of the necessary qualifications.


2. Success Story

First broadcast: Saturday 31st October 1987

Henry's brother decides to pay a rare visit. Matthew is inspired by his young, successful Uncle, but Henry isn't full of brotherly love.


3. Crime Watch

First broadcast: Saturday 7th November 1987

Henry gets touch on security installing a burglar alarm and joining the neighbourhood watch. Unfortunately a mysterious intruder chooses to strike while he's out on patrol.


4. Paper Chase

First broadcast: Saturday 14th November 1987

It's exam time for Matthew. But who is more worried, Matthew or Henry?


5. High Spirits

First broadcast: Saturday 21st November 1987

Matthew goes ghost hunting - in the spare room. Henry is sceptical until Matthew takes him to an allegedly-haunted railway station.


6. The Real Thing

First broadcast: Saturday 28th November 1987

Why is Matthew tingling in the morning? Henry offers advice in matters of love - but not surprisingly it doesn't really help.


7. Getting On

First broadcast: Saturday 5th December 1987

A visit to the opticians and an ear surgeon makes Henry feel his age. Matthew decides he ought to do more for the aged so adopts Shady Gray - but is Shady all he seems?


Christmas Special: Family Ties

First broadcast: Saturday 26th December 1987

Henry plans an intimate Yuletide break with girlfriend Cynthia. But then his children land on the doorstep wanting a family Christmas.


Series 3 Products