The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy. Arthur Dent (Simon Jones).

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Two sitcom by Douglas Adams. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1981. Stars Simon Jones, David Dixon, Mark Wing-Davey, Sandra Dickinson and others.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
Simon Jones Arthur Dent
David Dixon Ford Prefect
Mark Wing-Davey Zaphod Beeblebrox
Sandra Dickinson Trillian
David Learner Marvin
Peter Jones The Book (Voice)
Stephen Moore Marvin (Voice)
Writing team
Douglas Adams Writer
Production team
Alan J. W. Bell (as Alan J W Bell) Director
Alan J. W. Bell (as Alan J W Bell) Producer
Ian Williams Editor
Glenn Hyde Editor
Andrew Howe-Davies Production Designer
Bernie Leadon Composer
Paddy Kingsland Composer

For guest cast and crew see our episode guides


Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers.

  • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see costume designer & associate producer credits.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?