High Hopes. Image shows from L to R: Mam (Margaret John), Fagin (Robert Blythe). Copyright: BBC.

High Hopes

BBC One Wales sitcom about an extended family of petty criminals. 40 episodes (pilot + 6 series), 1999 - 2015. Stars Robert Blythe, Margaret John, Steven Meo, Ben Evans and others.

Series 5

1. The Hunchback Of Notre Dame

First broadcast: Thursday 1st March 2007

Mam is having a hip replacement in a hospital that is already undergoing a body parts scandal. Claude is in charge of the investigation because Sgt Ball is away on an anger management course. Back home Hoffman and Charlie are delighted when Fagin meets Esmeralda - a sparkling-eyed Irish gypsy.


2. Dead Man Walking

First broadcast: Wednesday 14th March 2007

Hoffman and Charlie invite Kurt Stable, a faded popstar, back home but things go seriously awry. Sgt Ball and Claude's reporting of a stag night that ended in tragedy offers an unexpected solution to the resulting dilemma. Mam leads them up the garden path.


3. Seance On A Wet Afternoon

First broadcast: Wednesday 21st March 2007

A rainy day in Cwm Pen Ol. The tedium in the Hepplewhite household is relieved by conversation - old tales of seaside adventures and family histories.

In-depth Guide

4. The Outsider

First broadcast: Thursday 22nd March 2007

Hoffman is going through the dark night of the soul!

In-depth Guide

5. The Fly

First broadcast: Wednesday 4th April 2007

Fagin is under threat from Karl Sweeney who has escaped from Happy Valley Mental Hospital.

In-depth Guide