Goodnight Sweetheart. Image shows from L to R: Yvonne Sparrow (Emma Amos), Gary Sparrow (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Phoebe Sparrow (Elizabeth Carling). Copyright: Alomo Productions / BBC.

Goodnight Sweetheart

BBC One sitcom about a time traveller. 59 episodes (6 series), 1993 - 2016. Stars Nicholas Lyndhurst, Dervla Kirwan, Elizabeth Carling, Michelle Holmes and others.

Series 6

1. Mine's A Double

First broadcast: Sunday 18th April 1999

A stormy night in the 1940s has a striking effect on Gary's journey back to the present day, leaving him a completely different person in more ways than one. Yvonne is pleasantly surprised with the transformation, but Phoebe sees a side to Gary she was not aware of, and is not impressed.


2. All About Yvonne

First broadcast: Sunday 25th April 1999

When Yvonne throws Gary out of the marital home, his edgy behaviour makes Phoebe suspicious that he is seeing another woman.


3. California Dreamin

First broadcast: Sunday 2nd May 1999

When Gary and Phoebe discover the lease on the Royal Oak has run out and Reg is retiring, they realise it is time to make plans for the future. Back in the 1990s Yvonne has her own heart set on big changes, but Gary isn't quite as keen to go along for the ride.


4. Grief Encounter

First broadcast: Sunday 16th May 1999

Phoebe loses patience when Gary backs out of the limelight. Does she have more than a brief encounter on her mind? Meanwhile, tensions in LA over Yvonne's American operations rise exponentially.


5. ...The 'Ouses In Between

First broadcast: Sunday 23rd May 1999

A foggy night in London town leads Gary into a close encounter with Jack the Ripper.


6. Just In Time

First broadcast: Sunday 30th May 1999

When a workman arrives to mend the hole in the space-time continuum, Gary has to decide where his future lies.


7. How I Won The War

First broadcast: Sunday 6th June 1999

A trip to entertain the troops forces Gary to play the hero.


8. Something Fishie

First broadcast: Sunday 13th June 1999

Life becomes explosive when Gary and Phoebe have to deal with a protection racket. Yvonne receives a rude surprise.


9. Flash, Bang, Wallop

First broadcast: Monday 21st June 1999

Gary has to take drastic measures to make sure that a compromising photograph from the 1940s is not seen in the present day.


10. Accentuate The Positive

First broadcast: Monday 28th June 1999

With the war coming to an end, there are surprises in store for Gary, his two wives, and Ron.


Series 6 Products