Goodnight Sweetheart. Image shows from L to R: Yvonne Sparrow (Emma Amos), Gary Sparrow (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Phoebe Sparrow (Elizabeth Carling). Copyright: Alomo Productions / BBC
Goodnight Sweetheart

Goodnight Sweetheart

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1993 - 2016
  • 59 episodes (6 series)

Whilst walking around the East End, TV repairman Gary Sparrow is transported back to 1940 where he begins to live a second life. Stars Nicholas Lyndhurst, Dervla Kirwan, Elizabeth Carling, Michelle Holmes, Emma Amos and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 2 - I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good

While Yvonne has her heart set on moving house, Gary is still more tempted by time-travelling. Meanwhile in 1941, a tall dark stranger has entered Phoebe's life; no matter who he is, Gary wants to evict him.

Broadcast details

Monday 27th February 1995
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 6th June 2011 5:05pm ITV3
Saturday 7th January 2012 7:40am ITV3
Wednesday 20th March 2013 7:00pm Gold
Thursday 21st March 2013 7:00am Gold
Thursday 21st March 2013 1:00pm Gold
Friday 22nd March 2013 6:30am Gold
Saturday 23rd March 2013 10:00am Gold
Friday 14th June 2013 11:50am Gold
Saturday 15th June 2013 12:00pm Gold
Monday 9th September 2013 3:40pm Gold
Tuesday 10th September 2013 10:00am Gold
Wednesday 19th February 2014 8:30am Gold
Wednesday 19th February 2014 4:20pm Gold
Saturday 20th September 2014 10:30am Gold
Monday 22nd September 2014 5:30pm Gold
Thursday 9th July 2015 1:45pm Gold
Wednesday 22nd July 2015 1:00pm Drama
Wednesday 22nd July 2015 7:20pm Drama
Monday 12th October 2015 1:00pm Drama
Monday 12th October 2015 7:20pm Drama
Wednesday 12th October 2016 11:20pm Yesterday
Thursday 13th October 2016 9:20pm Yesterday
Tuesday 4th April 2017 10:20pm Yesterday
Wednesday 5th April 2017 3:00pm Yesterday
Saturday 2nd September 2017 7:30am Gold
Sunday 3rd September 2017 1:10am Gold
Thursday 21st September 2017 7:20am Gold
Thursday 21st September 2017 10:50am Gold
Thursday 21st September 2017 11:00pm Gold
Monday 8th January 2018 7:20pm Drama
Monday 22nd January 2018 9:40pm Yesterday
Thursday 8th February 2018 8:40am Gold
Friday 9th February 2018 12:15am Gold
Sunday 11th February 2018 9:15am Gold
Thursday 3rd May 2018 8:40am Gold
Friday 4th May 2018 12:20am Gold
Thursday 21st June 2018 9:30am Forces TV
Thursday 21st June 2018 4:50pm Forces TV
Sunday 24th June 2018 3:10pm Forces TV
Thursday 1st November 2018 4:50pm Forces TV
Friday 2nd November 2018 2:30am Forces TV
Monday 5th November 2018 2:30am Forces TV
Thursday 17th January 2019 8:20pm Forces TV
Friday 18th January 2019 7:40pm Forces TV
Monday 21st January 2019 7:00pm Forces TV
Wednesday 27th February 2019 8:40am Gold
Wednesday 1st May 2019 9:15am Gold
Thursday 2nd May 2019 8:35am Gold
Sunday 5th May 2019 8:05am Gold

Cast & crew

Nicholas Lyndhurst Gary Sparrow
Dervla Kirwan Phoebe Bamford
Michelle Holmes Yvonne Sparrow
Christopher Ettridge PC Reg Deadman
Victor McGuire Ron Wheatcroft
Guest cast
John Rapley Stan (Old Codger)
Jonathan Cake Ludo
Paul Shearer Frederick
Patrick Pearson Joe
Alison Beattie Girl in Boat
Duncan Faber Stall Holder
Louise Tomkins Shopper
Writing team
Maurice Gran Writer
Laurence Marks Writer
Micheál Jacob Script Editor
Production team
Robin Nash Director
John Bartlett Producer
Allan McKeown Executive Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Roger Andrews Production Designer

Share this page