Don't Drink The Water. Cyril Blake (Stephen Lewis). Copyright: London Weekend Television.

Don't Drink The Water

ITV sitcom about siblings living in Spain. 13 episodes (2 series), 1974 - 1975. Stars Stephen Lewis, Derek Griffiths, Muguette de Braie, Frank Coda and others.

Series 1, Episode 1 - Home From Home?

Almost from the minute he arrives with his spinster sister Dorothy, ex-Inspector Cyril Blake realises that he has swapped one set of problems for another. His dreams of sun, sea & seƱoritas and the quiet life are shattered by the reality of a beach-side flat in the Spanish sun!

Broadcast details

Saturday 27th July 1974
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Stephen Lewis Cyril Blake
Derek Griffiths Carlos
Frank Coda Bill
Christine Shaw Beryl
Pat Coombs Dorothy Blake
Guest cast
Ray Marioni (as Ray Exposite) Spanish Workman
Tony Lord Policeman
Rosario Serrano Maria
Louis Mansi Spanish Workman
Writing team
Ronald Wolfe Writer
Ronald Chesney Writer
Production team
Mark Stuart Director
Mark Stuart Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?