Dead Ernest

ITV sitcom. 7 episodes (1 series) in 1982. Stars Andrew Sachs, Ken Jones, Harry Fowler, Janet Rawson and Zena Walker.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Monday 15th February 1982

After finding his time on earth cruelly shortened, Ernest Springer stands in line with the other new arrivals to heaven - it must be the British Section as there is a long queue!


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Monday 22nd February 1982

On his first day in the British section of heaven, Ernest gets an unusual welcome and a chance to meet up with old acquaintances.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Monday 1st March 1982

It's always a nerve-wracking experience being interviewed for a job but, when it's for his first job in heaven, Ernest is told he will have to undergo a trial period and examination.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Monday 8th March 1982

Having been previously told that he would not be able to return to Earth as himself, Ernest is given a fresh opportunity to go back - but how and what as?


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Monday 15th March 1982

Enrolling in the British School of Haunting seems a possible way of getting back to Earth for Ernest. But finding that the principals are Archangel Derek and Cherub Fred does not raise his spirits.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Monday 22nd March 1982

A chance to host his own radio show leads Ernest into an international incident after his phone-in upsets the German section - Schubert, Beethoven and Mozart!


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Monday 29th March 1982

Ernest makes a nuisance of himself when he starts a campaign to do away with quarantine laws and allow pets into heaven. It is not long before Archangels Derek and Doreen come along to stamp out his plans...