Captain Butler. Captain Butler (Craig Charles). Copyright: Essential Film And Television Productions.

Captain Butler

Channel 4 sitcom about a group of pirates. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1997. Stars Craig Charles, Roger Griffiths, Shaun Curry, Lewis Rae and Sanjeev Bhaskar.

Series 1

1. Death Is Just Another Word

First broadcast: Friday 3rd January 1997

The young Lord Roger of Prumsby arrives on board, eager to join the outlawed crew. Soon, a Spanish ship is spotted on the horizon.


2. Kiss Me Harder

First broadcast: Friday 10th January 1997

Butler and the crew are left scrabbling for a hiding place when they fall foul of Lord Nelson.


3. Desert Island Dick

First broadcast: Friday 17th January 1997

Butler finds love in the form of a mermaid.


4. The Tale Of The Ancient Mariner

First broadcast: Friday 24th January 1997

There are strange goings on on board for Captain Butler when Roger kills an albatross, causing an outbreak of superstitious panic from the rest of the crew.


5. Kidnapped

First broadcast: Friday 31st January 1997

The crew threaten mutiny if Butler doesn't start some real pirating but his salvation comes in the unlikely form of sweet innocent Lucy


6. Jailhouse Crock

First broadcast: Friday 7th February 1997

Butler and his boys are caught and tried for piracy.