Bob Monkhouse... The Million Joke Man. Copyright: Rain Media Entertainment.

Bob Monkhouse... The Million Joke Man

Gold documentary. 3 episodes (1 series) in 2015. Features Paul O'Grady, Colin Edmonds and Bob Monkhouse.

Series 1

1. First Steps To Stardom

First broadcast: Wednesday 3rd June 2015

Paul O'Grady presents the definitive look at the life and career of Bob Monkhouse, starting with the trials and triumphs of his early years.


2. The King Of The Gameshows

First broadcast: Wednesday 10th June 2015

Paul O'Grady looks at Bob Monkhouse's career during the 1970s and 1980s, with the help of rare and often previously unseen archive.


3. The Elder Statesman Of Comedy

First broadcast: Wednesday 17th June 2015

Paul O'Grady charts Bob Monkhouse's reinvention as the elder statesman of British comedy from 1994 to his death in 2003 and sees how at the end of his life Bob was performing some of his most outstanding comedic work. Paul marvels at Bob's final stage performance, and tells the story of how his prized joke books went missing from the BBC.