Blessed. Gary Chandler (Ardal O'Hanlon).


BBC One sitcom about young parenthood. 8 episodes (1 series) in 2005. Stars Ardal O'Hanlon, Mel Giedroyc, Robert Webb, Michael McKell and others.

Series 1

1. I'm So Tired (The Beatles)

First broadcast: Friday 14th October 2005

Gary and Sue begin to lose the plot as tiredness and sleep deprivation kick in. Their new neighbours Bill and Mary are introduced to, and instantly forgotten by, Gary. At work, session singer Vicky begins to question her relationship with live-in boyfriend Lance, as her musical colleagues look on.


2. Ever Fallen in Love With Someone (Buzzcocks)

First broadcast: Friday 21st October 2005

Sue attempts to become a celebrity mum and get her figure back. Gary causes chaos as he attempts to park his car. An unsympathetic motorist has his revenge, but Gary has the last laugh. A leaky gutter spells building trouble for Gary and Sue, but Frank the builder is on hand to re-assure them. Vicky agrees to babysit, unaware that Ronnie has his own plans for the evening.


3. I'm in Love with My Car (Queen)

First broadcast: Friday 28th October 2005

There's a crisis in the Chandler household when Sheepie the toy goes missing, and Lance accuses Vicky of stifling their relationship. Gary and Sue realise family life has driven them to drink, so they attempt to reduce their alcohol intake - but frustration gets the better of them when Bill announces he's offended by the pair's colourful language.


4. Just Looking (Stereophonics)

First broadcast: Friday 4th November 2005

Sue is insulted when a stranger gives her a long stare in the park and demands that Gary confront the man. In protecting Sue's honour, Gary comes to confront his sexuality and discovers that his heroes are not all he thought they were. Ronnie finally tells Vicky how he feels about her, but his chat-up lines don't have the desired effect and Gary sees future success in a manufactured girl group.


5. Hit Me Baby One More Time (Britney Spears)

First broadcast: Friday 11th November 2005

Gary's plan to educate Jake is hampered by a feminist librarian with a new spin on traditional fairy tales.


6. Who Wrote the Book of Love (The Monotones)

First broadcast: Friday 25th November 2005

Gary and Sue resort to bringing up baby by The Big Happy Baby Book method, but they run into problems as they try to put theory into practice. And Vicky dumps Lance, but a curry brings them back together.


7. Walk Like a Man (The Four Seasons)

First broadcast: Friday 2nd December 2005

Ronnie begins to believe he has no chance of finding love, so can't believe his luck when he learns Lance has ended his relationship with Vicky. Sue finds a novel way of communicating with the idle builders, and a family trip to the park ends in disaster.


8. Lets Spend the Night Together (The Rolling Stones)

First broadcast: Friday 9th December 2005

Bath-time, and the Chandler family come together for a photo session which has unexpected consequences at the developers. Gary and Sue refuse to get involved with trick or treating and decide to turn out the lights and hide under the table. After a final round of dumping, Vicky turns up on Ronnie's doorstep.