Blackadder. Copyright: BBC / Tiger Aspect Productions.


BBC One sitcom about a scheming coward. 26 episodes (4 series), 1983 - 2000. Stars Rowan Atkinson, Tony Robinson, Tim McInnerny, Brian Blessed and others.

Blackadder Goes Forth, Episode 1 is repeated on BBC4 on Tuesday at 10pm.

Blackadder Goes Forth, Episode 1 - Captain Cook

With a bit of trickery and abuse of George's sole talent, Blackadder has himself appointed Official War Artist and hopes to be sent to Paris accordingly; however, Field Marshal Haig's plans don't quite tally with the Captain's expectations...

Further details

Blackadder. Image shows from L to R: General Melchett (Stephen Fry), Captain Edmund Blackadder (Rowan Atkinson). Copyright: BBC / Tiger Aspect Productions.

In the trenches on the front, Edmund vows that he's damned if he's doomed. When Field Marshal Haig unveils his new strategy to move his drinks cabinet nearer to Berlin, Blackadder volunteers to be Official War Artist.

Broadcast details

Thursday 28th September 1989
30 minutes


  1. Tuesday 11th August 2020 at 10:00pm on BBC4

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Rowan Atkinson Captain Edmund Blackadder
Tony Robinson Baldrick
Stephen Fry General Melchett
Tim McInnerny Captain Kevin Darling
Hugh Laurie Lieutenant George Barleigh
Writing team
Richard Curtis Writer
Ben Elton Writer
Production team
Richard Boden Director
John Lloyd Producer
Chris Wadsworth Editor
Chris Hull Production Designer
Howard Goodall Composer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 78 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?