Black Books. Image shows from L to R: Bernard Black (Dylan Moran), Manny Bianco (Bill Bailey), Fran Katzenjammer (Tamsin Greig). Copyright: Assembly Film And Television.

Black Books

Channel 4 sitcom about a book shop owner. 18 episodes (3 series), 2000 - 2004. Stars Dylan Moran, Bill Bailey, Tamsin Greig and Simon Pegg.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
Dylan Moran Bernard Black
Bill Bailey Manny Bianco
Tamsin Greig Fran Katzenjammer
Simon Pegg Evan (Series 3)
Writing team
Dylan Moran Writer
Kevin Cecil Writer (Series 2-3)
Andy Riley Writer (Series 2-3)
Graham Linehan Writer (Series 1)
Production team
Nick Wood Director (Series 1)
Graham Linehan Director (Series 1)
Martin Dennis Director (Series 2-3)
Julian Meers Producer (Series 1)
Nira Park Producer
Karen Beever Producer
William Burdett-Coutts Executive Producer
Dylan Moran Creator
Graham Linehan Creator

For guest cast and crew see our episode guides


Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers.

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see composer & production designer credits.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?