Billy Liar. Billy Fisher (Jeff Rawle). Copyright: London Weekend Television.

Billy Liar

ITV sitcom about an imaginative young man. 26 episodes (2 series), 1973 - 1974. Stars Jeff Rawle, George A. Cooper, Pamela Vezey, May Warden and others.

Billy Liar

Billy Liar

Novel upon which the sitcom was based.

When Keith Waterhouse's comic novel Billy Liar was first published in 1959, rave reviews compared it to Kingsley Amis' Lucky Jim, Colin MacInnes's Absolute Beginners, Salinger's Catcher in the Rye, and other youth cult novels. Billy Liar is a regional comedy about a youth who attempts to escape his dull family life through fantasy.

First published: Thursday 28th June 1973

More Billy Liar products

Share this page