Barney Is My Darling. Image shows from L to R: Ramona Pank (Irene Handl), Barney Pank (Bill Fraser). Copyright: BBC.

Barney Is My Darling

BBC One sitcom. 6 episodes (1 series), 1965 - 1966. Stars Bill Fraser, Irene Handl, Angela Crow and Pat Coombs.

Series 1

1. Home Is The Sailor

First broadcast: Friday 17th December 1965


2. The £2,000 A Year Man

First broadcast: Thursday 23rd December 1965


3. The Twenty Six Year Itch

First broadcast: Friday 31st December 1965


4. Weddings, Funerals And Christenings

First broadcast: Friday 7th January 1966


5. My Son! My Son!

First broadcast: Friday 14th January 1966

Barney discovers the reason Ramona has been reticent about the son he has not seen for a long time. His reasoning: "He is what he is because I am what I am, being where I was instead of where I should have been..."


6. The Prodigal Son

First broadcast: Friday 21st January 1966