Ballot Monkeys. Image shows from L to R: Jack Pardew (Trevor Cooper), Kate Standen (Sarah Hadland), Kevin Sturridge (Ben Miller), Siobhan Hope (Hattie Morahan). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

Ballot Monkeys

Channel 4 sitcom about the 2015 General Election. 5 episodes (1 series) in 2015. Stars Jimmy Akingbola, Hugh Dennis, Liz Kingsman, Hattie Morahan and others.

Series 1, Episode 1

The Conservatives are trying to work out how to target women voters; the Labour turn to social media to promote a positive image of Ed Miliband; Kevin Sturridge is frustrated that the Lib Dems aren't in the newspapers; and UKIP's Gerry Stagg tries to undo Kate Standen's unguarded telephone remarks.


Sue Elliott-Nicholls was credited as 'Journalist' alongside the UKIP team, but in fact was cut from this programme and appeared in Episode 2 instead.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 21st April 2015
Channel 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jimmy Akingbola Basil 'Baz' Adelabu
Hugh Dennis Martin Frost
Liz Kingsman Ruby Hughes
Hattie Morahan Siobhan Hope
Theo Barklem-Biggs Conor Jones
Trevor Cooper Jack Pardew
Daisy Haggard Christine Proctor
Kathleen Rose Perkins Melanie Buck
Michael Fenton Stevens Simon Swann
Ben Miller Kevin Sturridge
Esther Smith Charlotte Guthrie
Sarah Hadland Kate Standen
Andy Nyman Gerry Stagg
Rhashan Stone Obi
Guest cast
Phil Nice Activist
Philip Pope Activist
Writing team
Andy Hamilton Writer
Guy Jenkin Writer
Mark Burton Writer (Additional Material)
Lucy Guy Writer (Additional Material)
Pete Sinclair Writer (Additional Material)
Colin Swash Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Andy Hamilton Director
Guy Jenkin Director
Paul Schlesinger Director
Jimmy Mulville Director
Debbie Pisani (as Debs Pisani) Producer
Jimmy Mulville Executive Producer
Nigel Williams Editor
Adam Bokey Editor
Robin Hill Editor
Mark Williams Editor
Mo Holden Production Designer
Philip Pope Composer


Tory Bus - Female Issues

Samantha Cameron's tattoo becomes hot topic on the Conservative bus.

Featuring: Jimmy Akingbola (Basil 'Baz' Adelabu), Hugh Dennis (Martin Frost), Hattie Morahan (Siobhan Hope).

Labour Bus - Likeable Factor

The Labour campaigners brainstorm on how to enhance Ed Miliband's image.

Featuring: Theo Barklem-Biggs (Conor Jones), Trevor Cooper (Jack Pardew), Daisy Haggard (Christine Proctor), Kathleen Rose Perkins (Melanie Buck).

Lib Dem Bus - Pressing Matters

A slogan has caused outrage on the Lib Dem bus.

Featuring: Ben Miller (Kevin Sturridge), Esther Smith (Charlotte Guthrie).

UKIP Bus - Cause for Concern

Kate is suspicous of the bus driver.

Featuring: Sarah Hadland (Kate Standen), Andy Nyman (Gerry Stagg), Rhashan Stone (Obi).


Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 2 further repeats of this episode
  • This episode's inital overnight ratings

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?