According To Bex. Image shows from L to R: Ryan (Oliver Chris), Chris (Raquel Cassidy), Bex (Jessica Hynes), Jan (Zita Sattar), Jack Atwell (Clive Russell), Charles Mathers (Greg Wise).

According To Bex

BBC One sitcom about a woman. 8 episodes (1 series) in 2005. Stars Jessica Hynes, Greg Wise, Raquel Cassidy, Oliver Chris and others.

Series 1, Episode 3 - The Time Warp

The family gather for a wedding, but a few drinks give Bex the confidence to tell the bride what she really thinks of her. Jack learns his ex-wife is planning to remarry, while Chris discovers Jan has another job - and ends up getting her accused of theft.

Further details

Bex's hateful cousin is getting married but, worse than that, Bex's divorced parents are both going to the wedding.

She persuades Ryan to come along to help her get through the experience.

Drinks flow and Jack is shocked to discover his ex-wife is planning to remarry.

Bex gains enough Dutch courage to tell her cousin just what she thinks of her, and everyone else, during the speeches.

Meanwhile, Chris finds out Jan has another job in an upmarket shoe shop.

Whilst trying on shoes they are accused of shoplifting. Security has to intervene and only another loyal customer who knows the two of them can vouch for their integrity.

Enter Charles with his camera.

Broadcast details

Friday 21st January 2005
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jessica Hynes (as Jessica Stevenson) Bex
Greg Wise Charles Mathers
Raquel Cassidy Chris
Oliver Chris Ryan
Zita Sattar Jan
Clive Russell Jack Atwell
Guest cast
Gwenllian Davies Vox Pops
June Bailey Vox Pops
Jan Francis Sally (Bex's Mum)
Jane Booker Miss Bunce
Amy Phillips (as Amy Philips) Olivia (Bride)
Leila Hoffman Vera
Phillip Browne Security Guard
Rufus Jones Bridegroom
Gareth McChlery Dancer
Lorna Fitzgerald Young Bex
Damian Asher Vox Pops
Jordan Long Vox Pops
Bobby Bragg Vox Pops
Writing team
Katie Douglas Writer
Julia Barron Writer (Additional Material)
Danny Robins Writer (Additional Material)
Dan Tetsell Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Dewi Humphreys Director
Alex Walsh-Taylor Producer
Kenton Allen Executive Producer
Fred Barron Executive Producer
Sophie Clarke-Jervoise Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see line producer, editor, production designer & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?