Miles Jupp writes his first novel

Thursday 28th January 2021, 9:28am by Jay Richardson

  • Miles Jupp is to publish History in August, his first novel
  • The book is a "satirical tragicomedy" following Clive Hapgood, a frustrated teacher at a private school
  • He is also developing the television comedy Fetlock with Vicki Pepperdine and a host of comic talent
Miles Jupp.

Miles Jupp has written his first novel.

History is described as a satirical tragicomic story about a man on the edge, that will appeal to readers of Jonathan Coe, Mark Watson, Michael Frayn and David Nicholls.

The book, which is published on 19th August by Headline, tells the story of frustrated teacher Clive Hapgood.

The private school he works at is consuming his life, no thanks to wretched headteacher Timothy Crouch. The gentle country life that Clive envisaged has stifled him and left his marriage on the brink.

What he needs is a holiday - something to remind him and Helen what life used to be like. But when things don't go to plan, and an incident at school begins to weigh heavy on his head, Clive's life starts to unravel in front of him.

Has he got it in him to turn things around, whatever the cost? After all, it's his own time he's wasting ...

Former News Quiz host Jupp attended Oakham independent school in Rutland and lives in Monmouth in rural Wales.

History is his third book, after 2013's travelogue Fibber In The Heat, based on his stand-up show about blagging his way on to the England cricket World Cup tour; and 2017's Egg And Soldiers: A Childhood Memoir (With Postcards From The Present), a fictional memoir from his fussy culinary writer character Damien Trench, whom he played in In And Out Of The Kitchen on BBC Four and Radio 4.

The novel and Egg And Soldiers are part of a three-book deal that Jupp signed with Headline in 2016, with a further non-fiction title still to come.

Penguin Random House have also recently published the comedian's Radio 4 series Miles Jupp Is Literally Unputdownable as a BBC Audio release.

Meanwhile, Jupp is developing Fetlock, a television comedy, with his long-time writing partner James Kettle and a cast that also includes Vicki Pepperdine, Alex Macqueen, Lee And Dean's Mark O'Sullivan and Miles Chapman and character comic Anna Morris.

Here's a clip of Jupp talking about writing his novel on a 2019 episode of Would I Lie To You?, which he returns to on Friday night:


For updates, click the button below.

 

Miles Jupp - History

Miles Jupp - History

A satirical, tragicomic story about a man on the edge, from actor and comedian Miles Jupp. For readers of Jonathan Coe, Mark Watson, Michael Frayn and David Nicholls.

Clive Hapgood is feeling stuck. The private school he teaches at is consuming his life, no thanks to wretched headteacher Timothy Crouch. The gentle country life Clive envisaged has stifled him and left his marriage on the brink. What he needs is a holiday - something to remind him and Helen what life used to be like. But when things don't go to plan, and an incident at school begins to weigh heavy on his head, Clive's life starts to unravel in front of him. Has he got it in him to turn things around, whatever the cost? After all, it's his own time he's wasting...

First published: Thursday 19th August 2021

  • Publisher: Headline
  • Pages: 320
  • Catalogue: 9781472239952

Latest news