Tina C Goes Down Under: The Aborogynal Monologues. Tina C (Christopher Green). Copyright: BBC.

Tina C Goes Down Under: The Aborogynal Monologues

BBC Radio 4 stand-up about country music in Australia. 4 episodes (1 series) in 2008. Stars Christopher Green and Julia Morris.

Series 1

1. Alice Springs

First broadcast: Wednesday 8th October 2008

Tina learns about traditional indigenous culture from local Kooris and compares it to the treatment of the Native Americans in her country.

In-depth Guide

2. The Gold Coast

First broadcast: Wednesday 15th October 2008

Tina explores Brisbane, where developers have built so many skyscraper hotels that the beach is in shade for most of the day. She sings her version of Waltzing Matilda on a local breakfast TV show and parties at a redneck bar.

In-depth Guide

3. Canberra

First broadcast: Wednesday 22nd October 2008

Tina performs for the state opening of Parliament. However, problems arise when she finds out seconds before the gig that Waltzing Matilda is not the national anthem.

In-depth Guide

4. Tamworth

First broadcast: Wednesday 29th October 2008

Tina's trip around Australia comes to an end in Tamworth, where she hosts the biggest Country music festival outside Nashville.

In-depth Guide