John O'Farrell. Copyright: BBC.

Things Can Only Get Worse

BBC Radio 4 comedy based on John O'Farrell's memoir. 4 episodes (1 series) in 2018. Stars John O'Farrell, Hugh Dennis, Jan Ravens, Doon Mackichan and Lewis Macleod.

Series 1

1. 1997-2001

First broadcast: Friday 29th June 2018

Election night 1997 ushered in a new era. Tony Blair promised a brave new future to the sound of M-People singing Things Can Only Get Better. That was certainly true for Professor Brian Cox. But the shine of that election victory is a distant memory in 2018. Just how did we get here?


2. 2001-2007

First broadcast: Friday 6th July 2018

Writer and accidental parliamentary candidate John O'Farrell adapts his best-selling book about the New Labour project.


3. 2008-2013

First broadcast: Friday 13th July 2018

Barack Obama's election, the financial crisis and Gordon's lack of prudence.


4. 2013-2017

First broadcast: Friday 20th July 2018

From the 'Ed Stone' to veteran left-winger Jeremy Corbyn, via Trump and Brexit.