British Comedy Guide

The Secret World. Copyright: BBC.

The Secret World

BBC Radio 4 sketch show. 22 episodes (pilot + 4 series), 2008 - 2014. Stars Jon Culshaw, Lewis Macleod, Duncan Wisbey, Margaret Cabourn-Smith, Julian Dutton, Debra Stephenson and Jess Robinson.

Series 4, Episode 1 is repeated on Radio 4 Extra on Wednesday at 10:30pm.

Series 2

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Thursday 1st July 2010

The Secret World returns with more stories from the private lives of public people, from Dead Ringers creator Bill Dare.

In-depth Guide

2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Thursday 8th July 2010

Alan Bennett replies to every bit of junk mail personally and with great style; whilst Professor Richard Dawkins persues his career as a pop singer - auditioning for Lady Gaga.

In-depth Guide

3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Thursday 15th July 2010

David Beckham wants to buy a rainbow from film director James Cameron. Alan Bennett responds to more junk mail with personally-crafted letters. Richard Dawkins tries to join Amy Winehouse as a backing singer.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Thursday 22nd July 2010

Ringo Starr wants to get back with his old band: The Shadows. David Beckham wants to buy a real T Rex from Steven Spielberg. Al Pacino is still stalking John Humphrys. Abu Hamza and Boy George continue their unspoken romance. Alan Titchmarsh reveals his darker side again.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Thursday 29th July 2010

Prince Charles is asked by his driver to help move some furniture. Archbishop Rowan Williams is upset that he never gets invited to go out drinking with the other bishops. Ray Winstone is terrified of pins and needles. William Hague has an overnight guest he can't get rid of.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Thursday 5th August 2010

More stories from the private lives of public people.


Share this page