The Jason Explanation. David Jason. Copyright: BBC.

The Jason Explanation

BBC Radio 4 sketch show. 31 episodes (4 series), 1977 - 1981. Stars David Jason, Miriam Margolyes, Royce Mills, Sheila Steafel, Chris Emmett, Norma Ronald, Stephen Moore and others.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
David Jason Host / Presenter
Miriam Margolyes Ensemble Actor (Series 1)
Royce Mills Ensemble Actor (Series 1)
Sheila Steafel Ensemble Actor
Chris Emmett Ensemble Actor (Series 1)
Norma Ronald Ensemble Actor (Series 1)
Stephen Moore Ensemble Actor (Series 2)
David Tate Ensemble Actor (Series 2)
Malcolm Terrace Ensemble Actor (Series 3)
Mike Grady Ensemble Actor (Series 3)
Gordon Clive Ensemble Actor (Series 3)
Jon Glover Ensemble Actor (Series 3-4)
Writing team
Colin Bostock-Smith Writer
Andy Hamilton Writer
Barry Pilton Writer (Series 1)
Paul Lee Writer (Series 1)
Alistair Beaton Writer
Rory McGrath Writer
Guy Jenkin Writer (Series 2-4)
Owen Brenman Writer (Series 3)
Chris Stratford Writer (Series 3-4)
David Morley (as Dave Morley) Writer (Series 3-4)
Jon Canter Writer (Series 3-4)
Terry Linch Writer (Series 3)
Laurie Rowley Writer (Series 4)
Dave Dixon Writer (Series 4)
Sue Clark Writer (Series 4)
Leslie Burns Writer (Series 4)
Production team
Geoffrey Perkins Producer (Series 1-2)
Jimmy Mulville Producer (Series 3-4)

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers.

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Composer credits.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?