The Country Girls.

The Country Girls

BBC Radio 4 comedy drama adapting the novels by Irish writer Edna O'Brien. 25 episodes (3 series) in 2019. Stars Charlie Murphy, Aoibhinn McGinnity, David Ganly, Jonjo O'Neill and others.

The Country Girls

Adaptation of the trilogy of coming-of-age novels by Irish writer Edna O'Brien

Comedy Drama
BBC Radio 4
25   (3 series)
Charlie Murphy, Aoibhinn McGinnity, David Ganly, Jonjo O'Neill, Deirdre Mullins, Susan Jameson, Paul Hickey, Paul Chahidi and others
Edna O'Brien and Lin Coghlan
Sally Avens and Jessica Dromgoole

Edna O'Brien's frank, funny and subversive story of growing up in rural Ireland in the 50s. Kate and Baba - girls who occupy the twin poles of romance and realism - have nonetheless been friends forever, united by a tacit resilience to the world they have to endure.

Written by Edna O'Brien - born in 1930 - she is now celebrated as the fearless chronicler of the dark underbelly of rural Ireland. Originally published in the 1960s, The Country Girls, and the two other novels in The Country Girls trilogy (The Lonely Girl and Girls in their Married Bliss), were banned by the Irish Censorship Board, burnt publicly in O'Brien's home town, and described by the Justice Minister (a young Charles Haughey) as filth. Fifty years later, the trilogy is recognised as an iconic work of twentieth century Irish fiction.

Production Details

Production company
Also known as
  • The Country Girls Trilogy (Other official name)
  • The Lonely Girl (Other official name)
  • Girls in Their Married Bliss (Other official name)
Laugh track

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Monday 19th August 2019 on BBC Radio 4 at 10:45am
Last new broadcast
Friday 13th December 2019 on BBC Radio 4 at 10:45am
Length of episodes
15 minutes
Last repeat
Sunday 15th December 2019 at 1:00am on Radio 4 Extra