The Break. Image shows from L to R: Andy (James Northcote), Uncle Jeff (Philip Jackson). Copyright: ABsoLuTeLy Productions.

The Break

BBC Radio 4 sitcom a man and his uncle. 18 episodes (3 series), 2016 - 2020. Stars Philip Jackson, James Northcote, Tom Palmer, Alison Steadman and others.

Next new episode is on tomorrow at 11:30am. Series 3, Episode 6
Catch-up on Episode 5 on BBC Sounds

Series 3, Episode 4 - The Agreement

Andy and Jeff find they have a big problem to solve - each other. Fish Shop Frank suggests Couples Therapy.

Further details

Andy and Jeff find they have a big problem to solve - each other. Fish Shop Frank suggests Couples Therapy as it worked so well for his ex-wife (and for him too, if he'd turned up).

After a session with unorthodox therapist, Dr Coulson, the treatment is such a success that Andy decides to move out. Jeff, though wounded, puts a brave face on it and gets on with his life as best he can; meanwhile, Andy, by contrast, is living the high life. He's run into an old friend from London, Sean, and they're visiting nightclubs and restaurants and comedy gigs together.

Will Andy learn to appreciate true friendship? Will Jeff stop complaining about Andy cluttering up the hall with his shoes? When will Andy start to miss the plain but honest things that Jeff has to offer - like a really fierce and satisfying game of Scrabble?

Broadcast details

This episode is currently available on BBC Sounds

Wednesday 1st July 2020
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Philip Jackson Uncle Jeff
James Northcote Andy
Mark Benton Fish Shop Frank
Shobna Gulati Ensemble Actor
Guest cast
Alison Steadman Dr. Coulson
Rasmus Hardiker Frank
James Northcote Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Ian Brown Writer
James Hendrie Writer
Production team
Gordon Kennedy Director
Gordon Kennedy Producer
Leon Chambers Editor

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Production Manager credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?