The Break. Image shows from L to R: Andy (James Northcote), Uncle Jeff (Philip Jackson). Copyright: ABsoLuTeLy Productions
The Break

The Break

  • Radio sitcom
  • BBC Radio 4
  • 2016 - 2020
  • 18 episodes (3 series)

Radio 4 sitcom about a man who heads to the seaside for a break and stays with his uncle. Stars Philip Jackson, James Northcote, Tom Palmer, Alison Steadman, Mark Benton and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 2 - Van Crazy

Jeff and Andy borrow a van from Frank setting them on the road to ruin - or rather, a nude beach, A&E and a search for some drip trays.

Broadcast details

Monday 21st May 2018
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 27th February 2020 6:30pm Radio 4
Thursday 5th March 2020 7:30am Radio 4 Extra
Thursday 5th March 2020 5:30pm Radio 4 Extra
Thursday 5th March 2020 10:00pm Radio 4 Extra
Friday 6th March 2020 5:30am Radio 4 Extra

Cast & crew

Philip Jackson Uncle Jeff
Tom Palmer Andy
Alison Steadman Corinne
Mark Benton Fish Shop Frank
Shobna Gulati Ensemble Actor
Rasmus Hardiker Ensemble Actor
Alison Steadman Ensemble Actor
Mark Benton Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Ian Brown Writer
James Hendrie Writer
Production team
Gordon Kennedy Director
Gordon Kennedy Producer

Share this page