The Blagger's Guide. David Quantick. Copyright: Unique Productions
The Blagger's Guide

The Blagger's Guide

  • Radio sketch show
  • BBC Radio 2
  • 2005 - 2014
  • 44 episodes (7 series)

David Quantick presents comical, occasionally fabricated quick-fire guides to various musical genres and events. Stars David Quantick, Lewis Macleod and Kate O'Sullivan.

Key details

Sketch Show
2005 - 2014
BBC Radio 2
44 (7 series)
David Quantick, Lewis Macleod and Kate O'Sullivan
David Quantick and Simon Poole
Simon Poole and Anna Harrison

David Quantick presents a lighthearted guide to music, in which not every fact is a truth.

In the first two series, The Blagger's Guide aimed to provide an encyclopaedia guide to rock and pop. Entries on artists, movements and places as diverse as Sheffield, Folk, Stadium Rock, Stax and Madonna all featured.

The third series switched to looking at The Classics - Beethoven, Bach, Tchaikovsky and music of that ilk.

Series four, lengthened to eight episodes, returned to the topics of rock and pop. Whilst in the 2008 series David Quantick looked to teach us more about Country music.

The six-part 2009 series presented 'facts' about jazz, and 2012's series looks at the Olympic Games.

There have been various one-off specials since.

Additional details


Broadcast details

First broadcast
Saturday 20th August 2005 on BBC Radio 2
Most recent repeats

Share this page