Parsley Sidings. Copyright: BBC.

Parsley Sidings

BBC Radio 2 sitcom about a railway station. 21 episodes (pilot + 2 series), 1971 - 1973. Stars Arthur Lowe, Ian Lavender, Kenneth Connor and Liz Fraser.

Series 2

1. Pass The Parcel

First broadcast: Saturday 29th September 1973

When Bertrand is left in charge of the left luggage office, along with a bunch of identical parcels, the inevitable happens.


2. The Flower Show

First broadcast: Saturday 6th October 1973

Horace gets into trouble when he allows a flower show to be set up in the station.


3. The Entente Cordial

First broadcast: Saturday 13th October 1973

Horace goes on an exchange trip with a French station master.


4. A Night Out

First broadcast: Saturday 20th October 1973

Bertrand causes a woman to miss her train. While she, Bertrand and Horace spend the night at the station, a series of events leads them to be arrested.


5. The Goods Train

First broadcast: Saturday 27th October 1973

While the news that Parsley Sidings is to be the home to more goods trains should be good news, Bertrand and Bradshaw ruin the event.


6. A Bird in the Hand

First broadcast: Saturday 3rd November 1973

While cleaning the station, the staff discover a bird not seen in Britain since 1937 nesting on their stretch of railway line.


7. The Purity League

First broadcast: Saturday 10th November 1973

Horace becomes a member of the Parsley Sidings Purity League, a group attempting to ban filthy films at the local cinema.


8. The New Level Crossing

First broadcast: Saturday 17th November 1973

When Parsley Sidings gets a new automated level crossing, it is decided by an inspector that Bradshaw is no longer required and thus he is made redundant.


9. The Film Makers

First broadcast: Saturday 24th November 1973

Horace Hepplewhite continues to try and prevent his beloved railway station from being closed down.


10. The Secret Agent

First broadcast: Saturday 1st December 1973

An important train is due to pass through Parsley Sidings, Horace makes up stories to test the station's security, leading everyone to think he has gone mad.


Buy Series 2