BBC Audio Awards 2022 nominees

Wednesday 22nd December 2021, 12:10pm

The nominees for the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2022 have been revealed. Notably Newsjack, the Radio 4 Extra sketch show which has been cancelled, is amongst the shortlists.

The comedy-related categories are below:

Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)

Bridget Christie

Bridget Christie: Mortal

By Bridget Christie, producer Carl Cooper for BBC Studios.

Bill Nighy. Copyright: BBC

Charles Paris: A Deadly Habit

By Jeremy Front, from the novels of Simon Brett, producer Sally Avens for BBC Audio Drama London.

God Squad. Image shows from L to R: Dan (Barney Fishwick), Phil (Jack Chisnall). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions

God Squad

By Jack Chisnall and Barney Fishwick, producer David Tyler for Pozzitive.

The Musical Life Of.... Copyright: BBC

The Musical Life Of...

By Dan Kiss and Dave Cribb, producers Tom Price and Dave Cribb for Rubber Chicken.

Olga Koch

Olga Koch: OK Computer

By Olga Koch, producer Benjamin Sutton for BBC Studios.

Whatever Happened To Baby Jane Austen?. Image shows from L to R: Florence Ransom (Dawn French), Selina Mountjoy (Jennifer Saunders). Copyright: CPL Productions

Whatever Happened To Baby Jane Austen?

By David Quantick, producer Liz Anstee for CPL Productions.

Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

Daniel Barker

The Damien Slash Mixtape

By Daniel Barker, producer Benjamin Sutton for BBC Studios.

Evelyn Mok

Drop The Dead Panda

By Evelyn Mok, Ken Cheng, Amille Jampa-Ngoen, Vivian Xie, Joanne Lau, Bruce Tang, producer Sam Michell for BBC Studios.

Gemma Arrowsmith: Emergency Broadcast. Gemma Arrowsmith

Gemma Arrowsmith: Emergency Broadcast

By Gemma Arrowsmith, producer Victoria Lloyd for Mighty Bunny Productions.

Newsjack. Copyright: BBC


By Kiri Pritchard-McLean and members of the Great British public, producers Gwyn Rhys Davies and Hayley Sterling for BBC Studios.

The Skewer

The Skewer

By creator and producer Jon Holmes with members of the audience, Unusual Productions.

John-Luke Roberts

Sound Heap (podcast)

By John-Luke Roberts, with Cariad Lloyd, Charlie George, Deborah Frances-White, Gareth Gwynn, Katherine Parkinson, Katy Brand, Ken Cheng, Kieran Hodgson, Paddy Gervers, Ruth Bratt, Saima Ferdows, Sooz Kempner, Amy Gledhill & Chris Cantrill, Tom Allen, Tom Neenan and Toussaint Douglass, producer Ed Morrish for Lead Mojo.

Elsewhere in the list of nominations Christopher Eccleston is nominated for Best Actor for his role in Murmuration, Jasmine Hyde is up for Best Actress for Little Blue Lines, and the Best Supporting Performance category features Jenny Bede (The Hauntening) and Cyril Nri (Angst!).

Precious Little Thing actor Jacoba Williams has been nominated for The Marc Beeby Award for Best Debut Performance and Mr Waring Of The BBC is in the running for Best Adaptation.

The winners will be announced on Sunday 20th March 2022.

For a full list of nominees across all categories see the BBC website.

Share this page