Radio comedies shortlisted for BBC Audio Awards 2018

Thursday 4th January 2018, 4:30pm

Winners update: Sarah Kendall and It's Jocelyn were the winners. Full details

The shortlists for the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2018 have been announced. Below are the nominees in the comedy-related categories...

Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)

Liam Williams - Ladhood.Ladhood by Liam Williams, produced by Joseph Nunnery.

The Penny Dreadfuls Present.... Image shows from L to R: Humphrey Ker, Thom Tuck, David Reed.The Penny Dreadfuls (Le Carré On Spying episode) by David Reed, producer Julia McKenzie.

Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy. Sarah Kendall. Copyright: BBC.Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy (A Day in October episode) by Sarah Kendall, producer Carl Cooper.

Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

The Absolutely Radio Show. Image shows from L to R: Gordon Kennedy, Moray Hunter, John Sparkes, Morwenna Banks, Pete Baikie. Copyright: ABsoLuTeLy Productions.The Absolutely Radio Show by Pete Baikie, Morwenna Banks, Moray Hunter, Gordon Kennedy and John Sparkes, produced by Gus Beattie and Gordon Kennedy.

Harry And Paul Present: The Gentlemen's Club. Image shows from L to R: Harry Enfield, Paul Whitehouse. Copyright: BBC.Harry And Paul Present: The Gentlemen's Club by Harry Enfield and Paul Whitehouse, produced by Sam Bryant.

It's Jocelyn. Jocelyn Jee Esien. Copyright: BBC.It's Jocelyn by Jocelyn Jee Esien, Ed Amsden, Liam Beirne, Sarah Campbell, Tom Coles and Laura Major, produced by Suzy Grant.

Elsewhere in the lists, Marcus Brigstocke is nominated for his drama The Red; Julia McKenzie has been recognised for her role in the 'Mercy Dash' episode of John Finnemore's Double Acts; and Andy Hamilton's podcast Inside Donald Trump has been nominated for best online show.

Tinniswood Award

John Finnemore's Double Acts. John Finnemore. Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.

Meanwhile John Finnemore has been nominated for the Tinniswood Award for Best Audio Drama Script for the 'Penguin Diplomacy' episode of John Finnemore's Double Acts. He is nominated alongside David Eldridge and Sarah Woods for the £3000 prize.

The judges said: "This is a perfectly formed piece of comic dramatic writing. While the play functions as a gentle satire on, and reductio ad, absurdum of the aspirations of empire and colonialism, it never loses sight of the humanity of those minions who must service such a grasping cause. Much of the humour of the piece derives from reading the personal sentiments between the lines of the official declarations. What emerges is the warmth of human friendship in contrast to the coldest of colonial and climatic environments."

The BBC explains: "The BBC Audio Drama Awards celebrate the range, originality and cut-through quality of audio drama on air and online and give recognition to the creativity of actors, writers, producers, sound designers and others who work in this genre.

The winners will be revealed at a ceremony in the Radio Theatre at BBC Broadcasting House on Sunday 28th January 2018.

Full list of nominations

Related Guides

Latest news