Radio comedies up for BBC Audio Awards 2018

Tuesday 21st November 2017, 5:29pm

4th January 2018: Shortlist announced
Harry And Paul Present: The Gentlemen's Club. Image shows from L to R: Harry Enfield, Paul Whitehouse. Copyright: BBC.

The longlists for the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2018 have been announced. Below are the nominees in the comedy-related categories...

Best Scripted Comedy (Longform)

Ankle Tag. Image shows from L to R: Bob (Steve Speirs), Alice (Katy Wix), Gruff (Elis James). Copyright: BBC.Ankle Tag by Gareth Gwynn and Benjamin Partridge, produced by Victoria Lloyd.

Bill Nighy. Copyright: BBC.

A Charles Paris Mystery: The Cinderella Killer by Simon Brett, adapted by Jeremy Front, producer Sally Avens.

John Finnemore's Double Acts. John Finnemore. Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.John Finnemore's Double Acts ('Penguin Diplomacy' episode), by John Finnemore, producer David Tyler.

Liam Williams - Ladhood.Ladhood by Liam Williams, produced by Joseph Nunnery.

Mr Muzak. Nigel Penny (Richie Webb). Copyright: Top Dog Productions.Mr Muzak, written and produced by Richie Webb.

Parental Guidance. Image shows from L to R: Roshan Parera (Romesh Ranganathan), Kate Parera (Amanda Abbington). Copyright: BBC.Parental Guidance by Max Davis, produced by Sam Michell.

The Penny Dreadfuls Present.... Image shows from L to R: Humphrey Ker, Thom Tuck, David Reed.

The Penny Dreadfuls (Le Carré On Spying episode) by David Reed, producer Julia McKenzie.

Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy. Sarah Kendall. Copyright: BBC.Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy (A Day in October episode) by Sarah Kendall, producer Carl Cooper.

Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show)

The Absolutely Radio Show. Image shows from L to R: Gordon Kennedy, Moray Hunter, John Sparkes, Morwenna Banks, Pete Baikie. Copyright: ABsoLuTeLy Productions.The Absolutely Radio Show by Pete Baikie, Morwenna Banks, Moray Hunter, Gordon Kennedy and John Sparkes, produced by Gus Beattie and Gordon Kennedy.

The Brig Society. Marcus Brigstocke. Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.The Brig Society by Marcus Brigstocke, Toby Davies, Nick Doody, Jeremy Salsby, Steve Punt and Dan Tetsell, produced by David Tyler.

Dead Ringers. Copyright: BBC.Dead Ringers by Ed Amsden, James Bugg, Jack Bernhardt, Sarah Campbell, Tom Coles, Max Davis, Nev Fountain, Laurence Howarth, Tom Jamieson and Laura Major, produced by Bill Dare.

Desolation Jests. Image shows from L to R: Rory Bremner, David Jason, John Bird, Jan Ravens. Copyright: BBC.Desolation Jests by David Renwick, produced by Gareth Edwards.

Harry And Paul Present: The Gentlemen's Club. Image shows from L to R: Harry Enfield, Paul Whitehouse. Copyright: BBC.Harry And Paul Present: The Gentlemen's Club by Harry Enfield and Paul Whitehouse, produced by Sam Bryant.

It's Jocelyn. Jocelyn Jee Esien. Copyright: BBC.It's Jocelyn by Jocelyn Jee Esien, Ed Amsden, Liam Beirne, Sarah Campbell, Tom Coles and Laura Major, produced by Suzy Grant.

Elsewhere in the lists, Marcus Brigstocke is also nominated for his drama The Red; Julia McKenzie has been recognised for her role in the 'Mercy Dash' episode of John Finnemore's Double Acts; Alison Steadman is listed for Our Hylda; and Andy Hamilton's podcast Inside Donald Trump has been nominated for best online show. Full list of nominations

The BBC explains: "The BBC Audio Drama Awards celebrate the range, originality and cut-through quality of audio drama on air and online and give recognition to the creativity of actors, writers, producers, sound designers and others who work in this genre.

"Each category is judged by a team of industry experts including actors Ruth Jones and Paterson Joseph, Newsnight presenter Emily Maitlis, and writer David Eldridge. Now in their seventh year, the Audio Drama Awards have previously recognised such luminaries as Bill Nighy, Neil Gaiman, June Whitfield and The Archers."

'Finalists' from the categories will be announced on Thursday 4th January 2018, and the overall winners will be revealed at a ceremony in the Radio Theatre at BBC Broadcasting House on Sunday 28th January 2018.

Related Guides

Latest news