14 comedy shows up for BBC Audio Awards 2017

Tuesday 22nd November 2016, 2:15pm

Monday 30th January update: The winners were Secret Kebabs and Robert Newman's Entirely Accurate Encyclopedia Of Evolution. Full results
BBC Audio Drama Awards.

The shortlists for the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2017 have been revealed, with 14 comedies in the running across the 'Best Scripted Comedy' and 'Best Comedy With A Live Audience' categories.

Best Comedy With A Live Audience

Josh Howie's Losing It. Josh (Josh Howie). Copyright: Black Hat Productions.Josh Howie's Losing It

Sitcom written by and starring Josh Howie as a man preparing for the arrival of his first baby. Produced by Ashley Blaker.

Mae Martin. Copyright: Sun Lee.Mae Martin's Guide To 21st Century Sexuality

A stand-up series by Mae Martin looking at topics surrounding gender and sex. Produced by Alex Smith.

Mark Steel's In Town. Mark Steel. Copyright: BBC.Mark Steel's In Town

The long-running stand-up show in which Mark Steel visits a town and performs a stand-up set about it. Produced by Carl Cooper.

The Penny Dreadfuls Present.... Image shows from L to R: Humphrey Ker, Thom Tuck, David Reed.The Penny Dreadfuls Present

A special from comedy group The Penny Dreadfuls (David Reed, Humphrey Ker and Thom Tuck) about Homer's Odyssey. Julia McKenzie was the producer.

Rob Newman.Robert Newman's Entirely Accurate Encyclopaedia Of Evolution

A 2015 Radio 4 stand-up series by Rob Newman, produced by Jonathan Harvey.

Tom Wrigglesworth's Hang Ups. Tom (Tom Wrigglesworth). Copyright: BBC.Tom Wrigglesworth's Hang Ups

Series 4 of the sitcom written by Tom Wrigglesworth, James Kettle and Miles Jupp, produced by Richard Morris.

The Pin. Image shows from L to R: Alexander Owen, Ben Ashenden.The Pin

Sketch show produced by Sam Bryant featuring double-act The Pin, aka Alex Owen and Ben Ashenden.

Best Scripted Comedy

Sleepy Tigers. Image shows from L to R: Rita (Marc Wootton), Sheila (Julia Davis). Copyright: BBC.Couples

Comedy set in relationship counselling, by Julia Davis and Marc Wootton, produced by Ashley Blaker.

Dot. Dot (Fenella Woolgar). Copyright: BBC.Dot

Comedy about a woman who works in the Cabinet War Rooms. Written by Ed Harris and produced by Jessica Mitic.

Guilt Trip. Image shows from L to R: Ros (Felicity Montagu), Laura (Olivia Nixon). Copyright: BBC.Guilt Trip

Comedy about a mother and daughter taking on a sponsored walk, starring Felicity Montagu and Olivia Nixon, and written with Katherine Jakeways. Produced by Jane Berthoud.

Lewis Macleod's Wired News. Lewis (Lewis Macleod). Copyright: The Comedy Unit.Lewis Macleod's Wired News

A team-written topical comedy show for BBC Radio Scotland starring impressionist Lewis Macleod. Produced by Gus Beattie.

Love In Recovery. Image shows from L to R: Danno (Paul Kaye), Julie (Sue Johnston), Andy (Eddie Marsan), Marion (Julia Deakin), Simon (John Hannah), Fiona (Rebecca Front). Copyright: Lucky Giant.Love In Recovery

Sitcom about a group attending Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, written by Pete Jackson and produced by Ben Worsfield.

Radio 4.

Secret Kebabs

A dark comedy about a relationship counsellor who has lost her faith in love, broadcast in the Afternoon Drama slot. Written by Christine Entwisle, produced by Kirsty Williams.

The Strange Vanishing of Julian Quark. Toby Jones. Copyright: BBC.

The Strange Vanishing Of Julian Quark

A Radio 4 Afternoon Drama by Tom Wainwright starring Toby Jones as a newly-elected Prime Minister. Produced by Sasha Yevtushenko.

Each category is judged by a team of industry experts, with the winners set to be announced in a ceremony at the BBC Radio Theatre on the 29th January 2017, hosted by Sir Lenny Henry.

To find out more and see the full list of nominees across all genres visit

Related Guides

Latest news