My Name Is Daphne Fairfax. Arthur Smith. Copyright: Heavy Entertainment.

My Name Is Daphne Fairfax

BBC Radio 4 documentary. 5 episodes (1 series) in 2009. Features Arthur Smith.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Monday 11th May 2009

Arthur's thoughts on the nature of stand-up comedy and how his desire to perform led to mirthless disaster in the rough and tumble of the emerging alternative comedy circuit - a world of sharp, political and angry jesters, directing their ire at the tired old dinosaurs of light entertainment.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Tuesday 12th May 2009

Arthur learns that being funny can get you laid. And success on the comedy circuit allows him time to pursue other ideas and very different interests, which include two bizarre prison visits.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Wednesday 13th May 2009

Growing up and growing old; Arthur's thoughts on the male mid-life crisis, as he faces depression. Plus how a unique rendition of Hamlet allowed him to smile again.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Thursday 14th May 2009

Arthur confronts a near-death experience and learns what freedom really means.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Friday 15th May 2009

Arthur becomes an institution, meets Bill Clinton and becomes a grumpy old man, and the path of true love takes an unlikely course.