The Museum Of Curiosity. John Lloyd. Copyright: BBC.

The Museum Of Curiosity

BBC Radio 4 panel show where guest donate to a virtual museum. 80 episodes (pilot + 13 series), 2007 - 2019. Stars John Lloyd, Bill Bailey, Sean Lock, Jon Richardson and others.

Another series is in development.

Gallery 4, Episode 4 - Meeting Twenty-Two

Guests are colourful writer and journalist David McCandless, linguist David Crystal and comedian Natalie Haynes.

Further details

David McCandless, an author and journalist best known for his graphic representation of just about every form of information, donates the super-ego, the part of the psyche which stops you from going too far.

Comedian and classics fan Natalie Haynes, donates to the museum all the TV detectives in the world (except Jessica Fletcher from Murder, She Wrote - Haynes claims she was a serial killer).

Linguist Prof. David Crystal provides the museum with his waffle generator, a device which gets you out of awkward conversations by saying nothing but cliches.

Broadcast details

Monday 24th October 2011
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    John Lloyd Host / Presenter
    Dave Gorman Host / Presenter
    Guest cast
    David McCandless Guest
    David Crystal Guest
    Natalie Haynes Guest
    Production team
    Richard Turner Producer
    Dan Schreiber Producer
    James Harkin Researcher
    Molly Oldfield Researcher

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 9 past repeats of this episode
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see Researcher credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?