The Museum Of Curiosity. John Lloyd. Copyright: BBC.

The Museum Of Curiosity

BBC Radio 4 panel show where guests donate to a virtual museum. 91 episodes (pilot + 15 series), 2007 - 2020. Stars John Lloyd, Bill Bailey, Sean Lock, Jon Richardson and others.

Gallery 16 commissioned.

Coding Special - Meeting Forty-Three: Coding Special

John Lloyd is joined by another new curator, Sarah Millican, to present this special episode about coding as the Museum takes a trip up to the Edinburgh Fringe. On the steering committee are the Festival of the Spoken Nerd's Matt Parker, CEO of Raspberry Pi Eben Upton, and Canadian graphic novellist Sydney Padua.

Further details

Sydney Padua, Canadian graphic novellist and animator, who has worked on films like John Carter and Clash of the Titans, and author of best-selling steampunk graphic novel The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage: The (Mostly) True Story of the First Computer, donates to the Museum Charles Babbage's Analytical Engine, which is a bit of a problem because he never got made. If the machine were built it would have even had its own error pop-up message.

Eben Upton, the inventor of the "Raspberry Pi", a computer the size of the credit card which is the fastest-selling British personal computer in the world, offers The Museum a BBC Micro computer, the standard computer in schools for in the 1980s.

Matt Parker, Australian comedian and ex-maths teacher, member of the Festival of the Spoken Nerd, and whenever asked by lazy interviewers what his favourite number is gives a difference answer every time, gives a Williams-Kilburn tube, a cathode ray tube that helped to move computers from gigantic machines to more electronic ones. It was responsible for RAM and the Manchester Baby.


This episode was part of a Make It Digital, a BBC season of programmes encouraging people to learn to code.

Broadcast details

Thursday 10th September 2015
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
John Lloyd Host / Presenter
Sarah Millican Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Matt Parker Guest
Eben Upton Guest
Sydney Padua Guest
Production team
Richard Turner Producer
James Harkin Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 5 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Researcher credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?