The Museum Of Curiosity. John Lloyd. Copyright: BBC.

The Museum Of Curiosity

BBC Radio 4 panel show where guests donate to a virtual museum. 91 episodes (pilot + 15 series), 2007 - 2020. Stars John Lloyd, Bill Bailey, Sean Lock, Jon Richardson and others.

Gallery 16 commissioned..

Gallery 2, Episode 2 - Meeting Eight

Comedian Tim Fitzhigham, physicist Simon Singh, and Gavin Pretor-Pinney, author of The Cloudspotter's Guide and co-founder of The Idler donate Don Quixote, a pigeon-spattered telescope and an extremely rare cloud to the museum.

Further details

Gavin Pretor-Pinney, co-founder of The Idler magazine and author of The Cloudspotter's Guide donates a very rare type of cloud to the museum and also discusses the dangers of falling through larger clouds.

Physicist and journalist Simon Singh chooses as his exhibit the Horn Antenna, a radio telescope covered with pigeon droppings which provided the first real evidence of the Big Bang.

Comedian, author and the first man to cross the English Channel in a bath Tim Fitzhigham donates the book Don Quixote to the museum and talks about his own attempts to live like a knight.


The full episode title is "Meeting Eight - Rooms 61-63: A Kelvin-Helmholtz Cloud, The Holmdel Horn Antenna & Don Quixote".

Broadcast details

Monday 11th May 2009
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
John Lloyd Host / Presenter
Sean Lock Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Simon Singh Guest
Gavin Pretor-Pinney Guest
Tim Fitzhigham Guest
Production team
Richard Turner Producer
Dan Schreiber Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 8 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see Researcher credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?