Mark Thomas - The Manifesto. Mark Thomas. Copyright: BBC.

Mark Thomas - The Manifesto

BBC Radio 4 stand-up. 20 episodes (5 series), 2009 - 2013. Stars Mark Thomas.

Series 1, Episode 2

The proposals up for vote in this second episode include a pedestrian proficiency test, hype free advertising, and a one year cooling off period for marriage proposals.

Further details

A pedestrian proficiency test.

Adverts should be just be 20 seconds long, feature a picture of the product without any packaging, and just four true facts.

People convicted of a hate crime should be sent to jail in the country they had a problem with.

A bill to make Members of Parliament tell the truth.

For everyone to give one book to their local library.

Banning bottled water and making drinking fountains etc more wide-spread via standpipes.

A one year cooling off period for marriage proposals.

There to be a minimum age of consent before you can join a religion.

Broadcast details

Thursday 2nd July 2009
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Mark Thomas Host / Presenter
    Guest cast
    Robin Ince Self
    Milton Jones Self
    Writing team
    Mark Thomas Writer
    Production team
    Ed Morrish Producer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 3 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?