Lemn Sissay.

Lemn Sissay's Origin Stories

BBC Radio 4 stand-up series about children raised in care. 4 episodes (1 series) in 2016. Stars Lemn Sissay, Geoffrey McGivern and Alison Belbin.

Episode 1 is repeated on Radio 4 Extra on Thursday at 7am.

Series 1

1. The Bed Under the Stairs

First broadcast: Monday 3rd October 2016

Lemn discusses his experiences as a foster child and draws comparisons with Harry Potter.

In-depth Guide

2. Mutatis Mutandis

First broadcast: Monday 10th October 2016

Lemn looks at the children at Charles Xavier's School for Gifted Youngsters, otherwise known as The X-Men Academy.


3. Is it a Bird?

First broadcast: Monday 17th October 2016

The poet finds common ground with Superman, comparing how he concealed his feelings to fit in as a child with Clark Kent keeping his special powers a secret.


4. The Dark Side

First broadcast: Monday 24th October 2016

Poet Lemn Sissay examines where he let himself do the wrong thing, and how he'd attempted to make amends.