Matt Berry.

I, Regress

BBC Radio 4 sitcom. 12 episodes (2 series), 2012 - 2013. Stars Matt Berry and Alex Rivers.

I, Regress - The Complete Series 1 & 2

I, Regress - The Complete Series 1 & 2

All 10 episodes of the dark, surreal comedy featuring Matt Berry's twisted regression therapist.

Unorthodox, unpredictable and verging on the unprofessional, Dr Berry is a deeply disturbing hypnotherapist. His experimental regressive technique is both strange and terrifying and involves taking unsuspecting clients on unsettling journeys through their subconscious.

Each episode sees him dealing with a patient who needs treatment for a particular problem. There's Karen House-Water, who's aquaphobic (and therefore afraid of half her own name); Ray Highknock, a smoking addict who wants to kick the habit; a pair of East End twins with unexpected past lives; and a man who's scared of everything about cats (including the musical).

As the doctor puts them into a trance, we take a trip into the deepest recesses of their minds, experiencing alongside them the dreamlike - or nightmare-like - situations that their brains (and Dr Berry) have created. But as they're faced with talking dolphins, an interplanetary voyage, the inside of a whale and the God of Thunder, they soon realise that the cure could be worse than the disease...

Brilliantly bizarre and an ideal late-night listen, this dark, Lynch-meets-Kaufman-style series won the 2012 Writers' Guild Award for Best Radio Comedy. It stars Matt Berry (Toast Of London, The IT Crowd) as Dr Berry, with a stellar cast including Katherine Parkinson, Simon Greenall, Morgana Robinson, Bob Mortimer, Steve Pemberton and Daisy Haggard.

First released: Thursday 19th August 2021

More I, Regress products