The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about space travel. 32 episodes (6 series), 1978 - 2018. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn and others.

The Secondary Phase, Episode 5 is repeated on Radio 4 Extra on Sunday at 3:30pm.

The Tertiary Phase

1. Fit The Thirteenth

First broadcast: Tuesday 21st September 2004

In which Arthur Dent finds himself stuck on prehistoric Earth, Ford Prefect comes out of a state of madness and Trillian teleports herself out of Zaphod Beeblebrox's life.

In-depth Guide

2. Fit The Fourteenth

First broadcast: Tuesday 28th September 2004

In which Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect travel forward in time via a sofa, just in time to spot a spaceship belonging to an old friend, and to see Lord's Cricket Ground be destroyed by 11 white robots.

In-depth Guide

3. Fit The Fifteenth

First broadcast: Tuesday 5th October 2004

In which Slartibartfast teaches Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect the history of the worst wars in the galaxy, the origins of cricket (or rather Krikkit) and Arthur is diverted by a very angry and deadly creature.

In-depth Guide

4. Fit The Sixteenth

First broadcast: Tuesday 12th October 2004

In which Arthur Dent attempts to escape from a lifeform whom he keeps accidently killing, learns how to fly, and gets hit in the small-of-the-back by an airborne party.

In-depth Guide

5. Fit The Seventeenth

First broadcast: Tuesday 19th October 2004

In which our heroes travel to Krikkit in order to prevent the worst, Zaphod Beeblebrox comes to the rescue, and Marvin makes everyone depressed.

In-depth Guide

6. Fit The Eighteenth

First broadcast: Tuesday 26th October 2004

In which Arthur Dent and Trillian meet the computer behind the Supernova Bomb, our heroes try to find out the Ultimate Question to Life, the Universe and Everything, and Arthur returns to Lord's.

In-depth Guide

The Tertiary Phase Products