British Comedy Guide

The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about space travel. 32 episodes (6 series), 1978 - 2018. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn and others.

Returns Thursday 8th March at 6:30pm. Episode Guide

The Secondary Phase

1. Fit The Seventh

First broadcast: Sunday 24th December 1978

The show that began with the end of the world continues with Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect stranded on prehistoric Earth, and Zaphod Beeblebrox and Marvin thoroughly devoured by a carbon-copy of the Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal.

In-depth Guide

2. Fit The Eighth

First broadcast: Monday 21st January 1980

Zaphod Beeblebrox and his mysterious friend Roosta are being taken in a flying building to the evil Frogstar, whilst Ford Prefect and Arthur Dent are stranded on prehistoric Earth. Some of them are getting hungry.

In-depth Guide

3. Fit The Ninth

First broadcast: Tuesday 22nd January 1980

An episode in which our heroes have the chance to chew the fat with some old enemies and Arthur Dent has an unpleasant cup of tea.

In-depth Guide

4. Fit The Tenth

First broadcast: Wednesday 23rd January 1980

An episode in which our heroes have some close encounters with others and themselves.

In-depth Guide

5. Fit The Eleventh

First broadcast: Thursday 24th January 1980

An episode in which our heroes do a lot of running and digging.

In-depth Guide

6. Fit The Twelfth

First broadcast: Friday 25th January 1980

An episode in which all is resolved, everyone lives happily ever after, and pigs fly.

In-depth Guide

The Secondary Phase Products

Share this page