Double Science. Image shows from L to R: Colin Jackson (Ben Willbond), Kenneth Farley-Pitman (Justin Edwards). Copyright: BBC.

Double Science

BBC Radio 4 sitcom. 6 episodes (pilot + 1 series), 2007 - 2008. Stars Ben Willbond, Justin Edwards, Raza Jaffrey, Rebecca Front and Margaret Cabourn-Smith.

Double Science

Radio sitcom about two incompetent science teachers who work at a college that specialises in drama

2007 - 2008
BBC Radio 4
6   (1 pilot + 1 series)
Ben Willbond, Justin Edwards, Raza Jaffrey, Rebecca Front and Margaret Cabourn-Smith
Ben Willbond and Justin Edwards
Adam Bromley

Forrresters is a sixth form college with a highly successful drama department run by the odious Danny Woods. For years, the science department at the college was a forgotten and neglected area where Colin Jackson (no relation) and Kenneth Farley-Pittman, two chemistry teachers existing in a work-life balance haven, could brew their own ales in peace and quiet. Kenneth even devised a self-assessment system where one class taught itself.

However the head of department Dr Oates dies from a massive coronary (probably induced by a butter chicken-laden diet). His replacement is Alison Hatton - she is keen and wants to bring in new students. Nothing will be the same again.

Production Details

Production company
Laugh track
Live audience

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Wednesday 4th July 2007 on BBC Radio 4 at 11pm
Last new broadcast
Wednesday 18th June 2008 on BBC Radio 4 at 6:30pm
Length of episodes
30 minutes
Last repeat
Friday 13th September 2019 at 5:00am on Radio 4 Extra