Comic Fringes. Copyright: BBC.

Comic Fringes

BBC Radio 4 stand-up from the Edinburgh Festival. 41 episodes (11 series), 2000 - 2015.

Series 1

1. A Deep Hole

First broadcast: Monday 14th August 2000

By crime writer Ian Rankin, read by Steven McNicoll.


2. Aftershave

First broadcast: Tuesday 15th August 2000

A woman finds herself trapped in a lift with a handsome young man. By Susie Maguire, read by Alison Peebles.


3. Year Zero

First broadcast: Wednesday 16th August 2000

A couple argue about their previous relationships - and suddenly their house fills up with former lovers. By Lynne Truss.


4. The Ghost Riders Of Pittenweem

First broadcast: Thursday 17th August 2000

A chilling tale of a late-night shopping bus from Fife. By Brian Hennigan, read by James Bryce.


5. Mrs Burns' Supper

First broadcast: Friday 18th August 2000

Exasperated by the nonsense written about her husband after his death, Jean Armour decides to hold her own Burns supper. By Patricia Hannah.


Buy Series 1

Comic Fringes - The Complete Series 1

Comic Fringes - The Complete Series 1 Download

Release date: Thursday 1st March 2012

Note: these episodes correspond to Series 5 of the radio show.

Three short stories written and performed by leading new comedians at The Pleasance Theatre in Edinburgh as part of the Festival Fringe.

In May Contain Nuts, by Janey Godley, a woman glimpses her own mortality when she calculates that...