British Comedy Guide
Funny Women Awards.

Funny Women Awards 2019 semi-finalists announced

The semi-finalists for the 2019 Funny Women Awards stage category have been announced.

The list of 433 entrants has now been narrowed down to the following:

Abi Clarke
Alice Brine
Alice India
Anne Gill
Becky Povall
Bylgja Babylons
Caity Burke
Cam Spence
Catherine Burgis
Celya AB
Charlie George
Charlotte McKinney
Chloe Green
Ciara Jack
Eryn Tett
Eva Bindeman
Grace Mulvey
Heather Jordan Ross
Helena Langdon
Isa Bonachera
Ita Fitz
Jen Ives
Jen Rhodes
Jenan Younis
Jenny Collier
Jessie Nixon
Julia Stenton
Justine Stafford
Karen Hobbs
Kate Barron
Kate Feeney
Katherine Atkinson
Kathryn Mather
Kemah Bob
Krystal Evans
Laura Smyth
Liz Bains
Liz Guterbock
Louise Atkinson
Mary O'Connell
Paula Gahan
Pauline Eyre
Ruth Hunter
Sarah Mann
Sian Davies
Sikisa Bostwick Barnes
Simone Belshaw
Suzie Preece
Teresa Livingstone
Yasmine (Jay Bennett)

Now in their 16th year, previous winners and finalists of the Funny Women Awards include Katherine Ryan, Zoe Lyons, Jayde Adams, Desiree Burch, Harriet Braine, Sara Pascoe, Sarah Millican, Susan Calman, Rachel Parris, Bridget Christie, Kerry Godliman and Roisin Conaty, with Thanyia Moore as the current title holder.

Live shows will take place in Manchester (24th July), Brighton (27th July), Camden (31st July) and Edinburgh (24th August) ahead of the Grand Final at the Bloomsbury Theatre, London on Thursday 19th September 2019.

This year's awards are supported by Sky.

Funny Women Awards. Image shows from L to R: Zoe Lyons, Sarah Millican, Katherine Ryan, Andi Osho, Gemma Whelan.

Meanwhile, a "diverse and hugely talented array of judges" has been announced for the Funny Women Comedy Writing Award and the Comedy Shorts Award, for which entries are "flooding in" ahead of the deadline of 31st July.

The Comedy Shorts Awards' panel of judges will include BBC Comedy Commissioning Editor Sarah Asante; BBC Head Of Comedy, Kate Daughton; Sky Comedy Commissioning Editor, Tilusha Ghelani; and Channel 4 Head Of Comedy, Fiona McDermott.

The Comedy Writing Awards judges will include BAFTA Rocliffe founder and producer, Farah Abushwesha; award-winning comedy actor, Shobu Kapoor; and writer of Channel 4's Pure, Kirstie Swain.

Funny Women CEO Lynne Parker says: "This is my 16th run of the Funny Women Awards and I am still as passionate about developing and supporting new female comedy as I was in 2003. There's always excitement, revelations and surprises and this year is no exception.

"Our partnership with Sky has been invaluable and ensured that we could see and showcase brilliant new talent across the UK and Ireland. As we now go into the final phase, we look forward to attracting even more partners to bring you the best entertainment and help us spread the word about Funny Women."

To find out more about the Funny Women awards visit

Enjoyed reading? This article is provided as part of BCG Pro. For much more like this, including premium articles, resources, tools and services, find out more and subscribe.