British Comedy Guide

Subplots: the rule of, err, nine

Nine Ball

In writing theory, there are nine different types of subplot.

These are themes and approaches that recur across novels, films, dramas and, of course, sitcoms.

They are, in no particular order:

1) The mirror subplot

A subplot involving secondary characters that mirrors the main plot.

2) The romantic subplot


Premium Tools & Content
This content is for BCG Pro members.

Already subscribed to Pro? Log in!

Published: Tuesday 9th July 2024

More insight & advice