This Country. Image shows from L to R: Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper), Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper). Copyright: BBC.

This Country

BBC Three (Online) sitcom about young people in rural Britain. 19 episodes (3 series), 2017 - 2020. Stars Daisy May Cooper, Charlie Cooper, Paul Chahidi, Trevor Cooper and others.

Watch the first episode


The show is filmed in Northleach in Gloucestershire, which is not far from where the creators grew up in real life and where they still live (Cirencester).


Daisy May Cooper (Kerry) and Charlie Cooper (Kurtan) are brother and sister in real life. Their dad (Paul) plays Kerry's useless dad in the show, and their uncle (actor Trevor Cooper) is the grumpy Len Clifton. Michael Sleggs ('Slugs' Slugett) is a long-term friend of the creators.


Daisy May Cooper voices Kerry's un-seen shouting mum in the show (she records the lines at a later date and they're added to the show in the editing process), although the role is credited to 'Ivy Woodcock'.


Additional material in the series is credited to 'the cast', suggesting that the actors have some freedom to improvise around the scripts.